79 replies to this topic

#1 GPJ_Longdriver

GPJ_Longdriver

No Soup For You, Next!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13095 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 10:19 PM

A query for the pro's amongst us. I've been playing seriously for the last couple of years, and have gotten my handicap down to single figures (currently 8), without seeking any formal golf lessons. My query is, how low can I realistically expect to get my handicap before I hit the wall, and need to seek outside assistance via the services of a pro in order to take the next step? A bit of history ..... I've been down to 6 at some stages during the last year, but have drifted back out probably due to winter golf conditions. At no stage have I had my swing analysed etc . so I'm pretty much self taught, and have got to where I am via a shiteload of trial and error, and lots of on course practice. I should add, that being a male, I'm quite reluctant to ask for assistance, and am a stubborn bugger at times, so my aim is to "go low" without any outside assitance if possible. Your thoughts in relation to my query would be greatly appreciated.

#2 MaxB

MaxB

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 482 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 10:23 PM

In theory I guess you can go as low as you want, scratch and beyond. In practice a good pro should help you reach the same objectives only a bit quicker (avoiding some of the trial and error you describe). Are you in a rush?

#3 GPJ_Longdriver

GPJ_Longdriver

No Soup For You, Next!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13095 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 10:27 PM

I'm not in a rush Max ........... I'm just wondering where the "wall" is going to be along the journey, and how to recognise it, if and when, I get there. Also I guess, are lessons from a pro going to get me past it?

#4 MaxB

MaxB

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 482 posts

Posted 07 November 2012 - 10:48 PM