Jump to content


 

 

 

 

Teetime Specials

  • Devilbend Golf Club - Thu & Fri $35 incl cart!!
    For only $35pp 18holes incl cart. Book quick for this great deal!!
  • Pacific Harbour Golf Club - $39 (Save 60%) (WAS $99.0)
    18 Holes incl. Cart Carts Must be Back By 5:30 no guarantee of 18 holes ON COURSE AND DRIVING RANGE Dress Regulations Suitable Attire: Ladies and Gents Tailored pants Tailored shorts (Plain Coloured Cargo Shorts will be accepted. camouflage or multi coloured cargo shorts will not be accepted) Skirts/ Skorts Collared Shirt/ Mock style Golf Shirt Anklet sport or full length socks Clean Golf shoe or flat soled sport shoe (no metal spikes) Exception: Children under the age of 12 when accompanied by a suitably attired adult may wear T-Shirt or mock style top Unsuitable Attire: Ladies and Gents Denim pants or denim shorts of any type Tracksuit pants Board shorts or elastic waist/ draw string shorts T-Shirts (of any sort) and Singlet’s Thongs, sandals or shoes without socks Football jerseys/jumpers Metal spiked and/or open toed golf shoes
  • Pacific Harbour Golf Club - $49 (Save 44%) (WAS $89.0)
    18 Holes incl. Cart
  • Trafalgar Golf Club - $25 (Save 0%) (WAS $25.0)
    18 Holes Walking $40 for cart hire at the club
  • Phillip Island Golf Club - $38 (Save 0%) (WAS $38.0)
    18 Holes Walking
  • Drouin Golf
    18 Holes Walking
  • Pacific Harbour Golf Club - $39 (Save 60%) (WAS $99.0)
    18 Holes incl. Cart Carts Must be Back By 5:30 no guarantee of 18 holes ON COURSE AND DRIVING RANGE Dress Regulations Suitable Attire: Ladies and Gents Tailored pants Tailored shorts (Plain Coloured Cargo Shorts will be accepted. camouflage or multi coloured cargo shorts will not be accepted) Skirts/ Skorts Collared Shirt/ Mock style Golf Shirt Anklet sport or full length socks Clean Golf shoe or flat soled sport shoe (no metal spikes) Exception: Children under the age of 12 when accompanied by a suitably attired adult may wear T-Shirt or mock style top Unsuitable Attire: Ladies and Gents Denim pants or denim shorts of any type Tracksuit pants Board shorts or elastic waist/ draw string shorts T-Shirts (of any sort) and Singlet’s Thongs, sandals or shoes without socks Football jerseys/jumpers Metal spiked and/or open toed golf shoes
Photo

Peter Hanson


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hangingout

hangingout

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 02:10 AM

Was that OK for him to pick his ball up yesterday on the last hole BEFORE he got a ruling on whether his ball was plugged or not? The ruling was that it WASN'T. I would have thought you'd let the rules guy determine that.

#2 Libba

Libba

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 494 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 04:10 AM

I must admit I didn't see the incident, but he might have been checking to make sure the ball was his.

#3 RulesDoc

RulesDoc

    Rules Rule

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2080 posts
  • LocationEurope

Posted 30 October 2012 - 07:13 AM

I did not see the incident either, but if the player picks up his ball before the referee arrives in a case where the most important thing is the lie, he most likely will not get the Ruling he seeks! The player must comply with what's said in Decision 20-1/0.7 and he must give the referee "opportunity to observe". Snipped from this Decision: "...In equity (Rule 1-4), if a player has reason to believe he is entitled to relief from a condition, the player may lift his ball, without penalty, provided he announces his intention in advance to his opponent in match play or his marker or fellow-competitor in stroke play, marks the position of the ball before lifting it, does not clean the ball and gives his opponent or fellow-competitor an opportunity to observe the lifting..."

#4 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2331 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 09:51 AM

Was that OK for him to pick his ball up yesterday on the last hole BEFORE he got a ruling on whether his ball was plugged or not? The ruling was that it WASN’T. I would have thought you’d let the rules guy determine that.

Where was the referee when he lifted the ball?

#5 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1194 posts

Posted 30 October 2012 - 12:06 PM

I watched the telecast. I think the ball was not touched until a referee arrrived. PH apparently asked for a second opinion and a smiling John Paramor arrived and concluded the ball was not embedded. One thing with TV the viewer canot conclude he is seeing everything as it happens. As well viewers can and do make mistakes.

#6 BGH

BGH

    Ruggedly handsome member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • LocationYou stay classy Melbourne

Posted 31 October 2012 - 11:36 PM

Yeah I was watching and never saw him pick up the ball during the incident.

#7 hangingout

hangingout

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts

Posted 01 November 2012 - 07:48 AM

He did mark it before he picked it up and no doubt probably told Rory he was going to get a ruling but being unsure of the rule, I thought it strange. During a normal round in a Sat comp for instance, you'd call your marker over first right? Anyway, must be OK in a pro event as no one said anything.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users