Jump to content


 

 

 

 

Teetime Specials

Photo

Drop from water hazard


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6035 posts
  • LocationCoonabarabran

Posted 18 March 2012 - 01:59 AM

Player inadvertently drops ball within hazard When is ball in play?

#2 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10499 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 18 March 2012 - 05:10 AM

As far as I know. Ball is in play when it is dropped.. Please supply a little more information. No Need. 20-6. A ball incorrectly substituted, dropped or placed in a wrong place or otherwise not in accordance with the Rules but not played may be lifted, without penalty, and the player must then proceed correctly.

#3 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2325 posts

Posted 18 March 2012 - 05:52 AM

Player inadvertently drops ball within hazard

When is ball in play?

http://www.golflink.com.au/...

VISION TEST TEAM PILOT #006

Peg has Bear_Vision

What are the circumstances of the drop?

#4 WendyD

WendyD

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • LocationNewburgh, NY

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:03 AM

Definitely need more information! Do you mean a ball was dropped accidentally? If so, it's not in play, just pick it up!

#5 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6035 posts
  • LocationCoonabarabran

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:04 AM

Sorry was not very clear, done from mobile and now back in front of computer Player in Matchplay hits drive into lateral hazard. Stakes are set back from edge of hazard. Player takes drop thinking his ball is outside the hazard line, before we arrive on the scene. Player is having a practise swing as we arrive. I informed him that where he had dropped he was still within the hazard. Player corrected the error of the 1st drop and dropped ball outside the hazard. Has he incurred any penalties for the practise swing within the hazard? He would have played the ball from thar position including grounding the club, maybe more practise swings if we had not arrived.

#6 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10707 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:13 AM

But he didn't play the ball, he re-dropped. So no penalties, other than one stroke to drop out of the hazard. You mentioned it was match play. Who was the silly buggar who told him he was still in the hazard before he made a stroke at the ball, unless he was on the same team?

#7 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2325 posts

Posted 18 March 2012 - 10:44 AM

Who was the silly buggar who told him he was still in the hazard before he made a stroke at the ball, unless he was on the same team?
Are you suggesting his opponent should knowingly allow him to breach a rule and then call a penalty?

#8 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10499 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:19 PM

What he would have done is of no consequence. IMO as he did not play the ball & corrected his error before playing a shot, No Penalty.

#9 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2325 posts

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:51 PM

pom What about the 1sp under 26-1?

#10 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6035 posts
  • LocationCoonabarabran

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:55 PM

Practise swing, before the error of drop was pointed out to him, did make contact with ground in the hazard........

#11 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6035 posts
  • LocationCoonabarabran

Posted 18 March 2012 - 07:58 PM

But he didn’t play the ball, he re-dropped. So no penalties, other than one stroke to drop out of the hazard.

You mentioned it was match play. Who was the silly buggar who told him he was still in the hazard before he made a stroke at the ball, unless he was on the same team?

I was not playing him but the fellow sharing cart was, yes we could have let him go but we did the right thing.......... My opponent nearly hit a wrong ball but my cart sharing pointed it out to him before he did..... I did abuse him but we both agreed it was the "right" thing to do

#12 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10499 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 18 March 2012 - 08:13 PM

Sorry Badly worded. No penalty for incorrect drop or practice swing in the Hazard.

#13 RulesDoc

RulesDoc

    Rules Rule

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2080 posts
  • LocationEurope

Posted 19 March 2012 - 05:36 AM

When the ball was dropped, it was in play. Not in play on a correct spot under Rule 26-1, but in play nevertheless. When the player took a practice swing touching the ground in the hazard when the ball was lying in the hazard, he should have lost the hole, but there's of course no penalty, when the opponent didn't notice this :-)

#14 LowLife

LowLife

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 07:12 AM

Who was the silly buggar who told him he was still in the hazard before he made a stroke at the ball, unless he was on the same team?

Are you suggesting his opponent should knowingly allow him to breach a rule and then call a penalty?

.

Hi, was just wondering what would happen in this situation, I have heard of similar things occuring. One was A, B, C and D getting ready to tee off, A walks over and tee's his ball up from the whites instead of the blues. B, C and D point this out to each other but do not tell A until he has finished his shot.

#15 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10707 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 26 October 2012 - 07:58 AM

If it was match play, no penalty, but A could be asked by his opponent to play again from the correct place. If it was stroke play, A would never play with those arseholes again.

#16 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6035 posts
  • LocationCoonabarabran

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:37 AM

Follow up question of sorts The following happened on the weekend Player cracks a drive that hits distance marker on the fly and unfortunately rebounds into red staked hazard. Players ball came to rest about 2 meters from said distance marker and from a staked tree directly behind distance marker. Distance marker marker is approx 1 meter high and can be removed. tree as mentioned was staked Question is what are the players options with his ball inside the hazard line? Will state what was allowed to occur in due course

#17 LowLife

LowLife

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:52 AM

So there is no penalty for B, C or D?

#18 LowLife

LowLife

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 26 October 2012 - 09:00 AM

Who was the silly buggar who told him he was still in the hazard before he made a stroke at the ball, unless he was on the same team?

Are you suggesting his opponent should knowingly allow him to breach a rule and then call a penalty?

.

This comment from AAA made me think there might be a ruling on this,

#19 Libba

Libba

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 487 posts

Posted 27 October 2012 - 02:06 AM

Follow up question of sorts

The following happened on the weekend
Player cracks a drive that hits distance marker on the fly and unfortunately rebounds into red staked hazard.
Players ball came to rest about 2 meters from said distance marker and from a staked tree directly behind distance marker.
Distance marker marker is approx 1 meter high and can be removed. tree as mentioned was staked

Question is what are the players options with his ball inside the hazard line?

Will state what was allowed to occur in due course

http://www.golflink.com.au/...

VISION TEST TEAM PILOT #006

Peg has Bear_Vision

I'll have a go...but as always with these things, I stand to be corrected... As long as it's not prohibited by a local rule, I think I'm right in saying the distance marker can be moved. But if the tree was 2m away, it shouldn't be in the area of intended swing, so no relief from it.

#20 RulesDoc

RulesDoc

    Rules Rule

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2080 posts
  • LocationEurope

Posted 27 October 2012 - 03:20 AM

The Ruling is the same ball inside/outside the hazard. As already said, the stake can be removed as long as a Local Rule does not prohibit it, and there's no relief from a staked tree if the only interference is that it's in the line of play. Furthermore there's only relief from the tree even if there's direct interference from it if there's a Local Rule on staked trees. Without a Local Rule on staked trees, there's only relief from the stake itself.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users