Photo

GPJ’s Journey to ... God Knows Where

• Please log in to reply
9052 replies to this topic

#1 GPJ_Longdriver

GPJ_Longdriver

Long Iron Appreciation Society President.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18970 posts
  • LocationReclinng in The Bahamas ... in my mind.

Posted 25 November 2011 - 10:21 PM

A lot of you guys know me pretty well by now, and have seen my golf game in action (not pretty at times, but sometimes it can have flashes of sheer and utter ...... goodness) so some of this may not be news to some. Anyway, back to the start, and I started playing golf socially way back in the dark ages, as a teenager, (playing right handed incidentally), but other sports and life, generally got in the way for at least the next decade or two. I did manage to spend the odd year in my 20’s and early 30’s perfecting the “recovery shot” up at Royal Olinda. There’s nothing like hitting the ball in one direction and then walking off in another, cause you know that’s where you’re ball will end up ..... either due to the slope of the ground, or to my perennial wild slice back then. A couple o years ago, I stumbled across some mildly amusing golf forum just at the point where I was playing a bit more frequently and looking to improve. I also had my one, and to date, only golf lesson ...... which consisted of the local golf pro (henceforth to be dubbed Eric the Idle) instructing me in how to hit the draw shot, thereby eliminating my 40 year slice. The sum of Eric’s coaching consisted of one sentence ..... “try to hit the ball over mid on, instead of over covers”. For a former opening batsman of some distinction, the dusty light bulb turned on instantly, and Eric quickly departed back to the clubhouse ..... to continue on with his idle ways. It was about this time that I decided, with much encouragement from my ISG brethren to also get an official handicap. (I’d call it nagging, but let’s not split hares, as that would be bloody and messy, and likely to draw the attent