Posted 06 October 2011 - 07:44 PM
The answer is definitely no. The side must be DQ'd.
Too many players are careless about checking the stroke score recorded. It is not hard. They just have to get into the routine at the end of the game. DQ a few times usually fixes it for a very long time.
There can be a different result in Par competitions.
See Rule 32-2a and the following Decision
32-2a/5 Handicap Bogey or Par Competition; Recording of Lower Gross Score Does Not Affect Result of Hole
Q. In a handicap bogey or par competition, a competitor inadvertently returns his score card to the Committee with a score of 3 at the 10th hole when his score for the hole was actually 4. The 10th hole is a par 4 at which the competitor receives a handicap stroke. What is the ruling?
A. As the recording of the lower score did not affect the result of the hole, i.e., the competitor would be awarded the hole despite recording a 3 instead of a 4, there is no penalty (Rule 32-2a).