Jump to content


 

Photo

Ball in play - water hazard


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 GolfGeezer

GolfGeezer

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Posted 19 February 2009 - 08:26 PM

Hi, Just looking for a bit a clafication for a relatively common occurance. Player's ball is in water hazard, but not found. Drops ball under 26-1, then original ball is spotted by someone else. Having dropped a substitute ball, he no longer has the option of playing the original ball from the hazard - right? Thanks, Peter.

#2 Belligerant

Belligerant

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 281 posts

Posted 19 February 2009 - 08:39 PM

26-1/3.5 Ball Dropped Under Water Hazard Rule with Knowledge or Virtual Certainty; Original Ball Then Found Q. A player’s ball is struck towards a water hazard. It is known or virtually certain that the player’s ball is in the water hazard, and he drops a ball under Rule 26-1b. Before he plays the dropped ball, his original ball is found within the five-minute search period. What is the ruling? A. As it was known or virtually certain that the ball was in the water hazard when the player put the substituted ball into play, that ball was correctly substituted and he may not play the original ball. If the original ball was found in the water hazard and this discovery affects the reference point for proceeding under Rule 26-1b, resulting in the substituted ball having been dropped in a wrong place, the player must correct the error under Rule 20-6. The player must proceed in accordance with any of the applicable options under Rule 26-1 with respect to the correct reference point (see Decisions 20-6/2 and 26-1/16). Otherwise, Rule 20-6 does not apply and the player must continue play with the dropped ball. In either case, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke under Rule 26-1. In the unlikely event that the original ball was found outside the water hazard, the player must continue with the dropped ball under penalty of one stroke (Rule 26-1). (Revised) If there was no knowledge or virtual certainty (KVC) of the ball being in the water hazard - see Dec 26-1/3.7.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users