Posted 18 January 2009 - 08:26 AM
18th today, a guy in the group smacked his tee shot way past the green, off the footpath and up into the verandah of the clubhouse. OOB.
A guy on the verandah threw his ball back down near the green.
He put a new ball in to play and holed out with it.
In the club after a bunch of people were claiming he didn't have to play 3 off the tee, he could have played the returned ball. One particular guy was adamant, hearing this was the case from a 'rules guru' at the club, and quoted Nick Faldo in the World Matchplay doing it.
I disputed this despite 3 guys constantly telling me I was wrong. Getting home and looking up the rulebook, it seems the even if the ball was still moving, the note to 19-1 would apply and the committee would make the call in equity - which would surely be OOB due to the incredibly unlikely chance of the ball bouncing around up there and returning back in play without intentional action.
Am I wrong here? What was the Faldo situation?