Jump to content


 

Photo

Preferred Lies


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#46 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3094 posts

Posted 16 April 2018 - 04:49 PM

Given that only a small proportion of players play handicap events outside their own club, I think the effect on a World (or even National) Handicap system and therefore players outside the club is inconsequential. If that is what is needed to make the game playable and enjoyable for the club members, so be it. I can't get too excited.


Edited by AAA, 16 April 2018 - 04:49 PM.


#47 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8676 posts
  • LocationI can see clearly now

Posted 16 April 2018 - 05:00 PM

I know of a local club that puts in place a local rule allowing tee up on the fairways. Basically because they are like yours are at the moment. Not an approved local rule but a realistic one.


Yep the club has been there and done that some 20+ years ago
Henceforth my tongue in cheek comment about rules

VTTP 006

 

Miracle

 

 


#48 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1901 posts

Posted 16 April 2018 - 09:15 PM

By the way. When tee up on fairway is done it can be because of plenty of grass but extreme wetness.
In their wisdom teeing up is made compulsory. While tees are good for woods and long irons it is a different picture with chipping and pitching.
Things even out. At least the golfers get to play.
Best part is the social aspect and betting for a few lottery tickets and a jug after the game.
  • pom likes this

#49 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3094 posts

Posted 16 April 2018 - 11:07 PM

Why not try fairway mats? Chipping is better than off a tee.



#50 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 480 posts

Posted 16 April 2018 - 11:23 PM

Why not try fairway mats? Chipping is better than off a tee.

Tees are less expensive and everybody already has them?


  • pom likes this

#51 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1597 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 27 April 2018 - 09:49 AM

So in a similar vein to the original question but now specifically when playing with “preferred lies (closely mown areas only)”.

 

Do we consider it is permissible to move the ball from the fairway to the rough when preferring?

 

Obviously in these cases, moving from the rough to the fairway would not be allowed, but I’m not sure whether doing it the other way falls within the boundaries of the rule.


| GolfLink 


#52 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 480 posts

Posted 27 April 2018 - 10:40 AM

So in a similar vein to the original question but now specifically when playing with “preferred lies (closely mown areas only)”.

 

Do we consider it is permissible to move the ball from the fairway to the rough when preferring?

 

Obviously in these cases, moving from the rough to the fairway would not be allowed, but I’m not sure whether doing it the other way falls within the boundaries of the rule.

The authorized and recommended local Rule doesn't say you can't, so you can.


  • Monty85 likes this

#53 PuttOvr

PuttOvr

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 512 posts

Posted 27 April 2018 - 11:08 AM


Monty85, on 27 Apr 2018 - 09:19 AM, said:snapback.png

So in a similar vein to the original question but now specifically when playing with “preferred lies (closely mown areas only)”.

 

Do we consider it is permissible to move the ball from the fairway to the rough when preferring?

 

Obviously in these cases, moving from the rough to the fairway would not be allowed, but I’m not sure whether doing it the other way falls within the boundaries of the rule.

The authorised and recommended local Rule doesn't say you can't, so you can.

Is this wright.....
I have long wondered about this rule?
Also I was told one day you can only move your ball the one time is this wright also  

Thanks anyone 
 



#54 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1597 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 27 April 2018 - 11:51 AM

 

Also I was told one day you can only move your ball the one time is this wright also  


 

 

From what I understand that is true.

 

In Appendix I, Part A (b: preferred lies) it says

 

A player may place his ball only once, and it is in play when it has been placed (Rule 20-4). If the ball fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, Rule 20-3d applies. If the ball when placed comes to rest on the spot on which it is placed and it subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, unless the provisions of any other


Edited by Monty85, 27 April 2018 - 11:52 AM.

  • PuttOvr likes this

| GolfLink 


#55 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1901 posts

Posted 27 April 2018 - 01:39 PM

On preferring the lie from fairway to rough. At my course it is not uncommon to have some very nice turf just off the fairway. I have taken the lie in the rough on any occasions.
Rogolf points out above something that it is good to remember, unless something is prohibited in the Rules it is “okay”. However knowing what is prohibited means you need to know a bit about the Rules.
One of my favourites is when dropping a ball it is okay to stand in a hole to eliminate the chance of the ball coming to rest in the hole. There’s an element of doubt that it is a bit dodgy....you hear about influencing the ball and worry you might be getting involved with that.
As long as you stand still and drop the right way, all is good.
Of course if the ball rolls up and touches your shoe a redrop is required.
  • pom and Monty85 like this

#56 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24279 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 27 April 2018 - 01:41 PM

 

Monty85, on 27 Apr 2018 - 09:19 AM, said:snapback.png

The authorised and recommended local Rule doesn't say you can't, so you can.

Is this wright.....
I have long wondered about this rule?
Also I was told one day you can only move your ball the one time is this wright also  

Thanks anyone 
 

 

 

A wright is a carpenter or joiner, unless he's a shipwright.

 

But yes, both are right.


  • pom likes this

Golflink

Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.


#57 PuttOvr

PuttOvr

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 512 posts

Posted 27 April 2018 - 02:12 PM

 can you place the ball in the rough or have to drop 
 



#58 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1597 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 27 April 2018 - 02:12 PM

Rogolf points out above something that it is good to remember, unless something is prohibited in the Rules it is “okay”. However knowing what is prohibited means you need to know a bit about the Rules.
One of my favourites is when dropping a ball it is okay to stand in a hole to eliminate the chance of the ball coming to rest in the hole. There’s an element of doubt that it is a bit dodgy....you hear about influencing the ball and worry you might be getting involved with that.
As long as you stand still and drop the right way, all is good.
Of course if the ball rolls up and touches your shoe a redrop is required.

 

I've used that dropping example as well in the past to explain to people how a good knowledge of the rules can help you just as much as it can penalise you.

 

The place I was coming from with my question however, wasn't from not knowing that it doesn't mention that in the rules but rather if the action of preferring a ball on to an area that is not closely mowed contradicts the rule stating "closely mowed areas" only.


| GolfLink 


#59 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1901 posts

Posted 27 April 2018 - 02:19 PM

can you place the ball in the rough or have to drop

Place. You place the ball ....stated in the Spećimen Local Rule.

#60 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24279 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 27 April 2018 - 02:54 PM

 can you place the ball in the rough or have to drop 
 

 

Unless specified otherwise in the local rule, preferred lies are a 'place'.


Golflink

Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users