Loading ...
these fake?
Forums → Golf Equipment | 14 posts
|
hey guys
can someone tell me if these are real or not? seems awfully cheap http://cgi.ebay.com.au/THRE...
|
|
there's been a pretty big influx of fake cleveland gear on
ebay so if you wnat peace of mind, buy from established
ebayer.
|
|
My advice is to stay away. Aus golf used to sell exactly the same selection (this guy has expanded his inventory) and he used exactly the same pictures as previously and has the same layout. Even postage cost is the same. I know because I bought from him before he killed the previous ID. I've compared the CG11's i bought from him instore, it looks remarkably similar when compared to some i saw in a proshop, but the grips were of poorer quality and the colourfill definitely made it look fake...compared the heads in shop and they were very very close like i said, however, compared to a drummond model, quite a few subtle differences. the CG11 stamping was different in size, it's been a while so i can't quite remember what else was different. Yes aus.g0lf provided a money back guarantee too, but you lose the 30bux shipping + however much it costs to send back. He does however maintain that he gets them off a genuine source, and that they are the real deal. Remember you have to maintain the clubs in the original condition with the wrapping in order to return. But my advice, don't give him a cent of your hard earned.
|
|
Stock pics, seller account based in Germany and no feedback from AU buyers. I would steer clear of this but if you're interested ask him for real pics and see what he says.
|
|
Does look like Ausg0lf again, good call... I was taken for a ride by him. However, I got my money back, after 10 emails. Stay away...
|
|
it did look a bit sus, thanks guys will be buying my wedges individually from a store...one by one =( thanksss again
|
|
I couldn't find too much wrong with this seller, apart from he's only new to ebay (?) and they were cheap enough, with what looks like legit photos, so I went ahead and bought them. I'm a rich man (I still have over $9.00 in the bank and when my grandma dies I'll get her Persian cat (I'll ebay the cat)) so I could afford to wipe the moola if it came to that. If they're legit I got a good deal, but we'll see.
|
|
eBay is full of fake Cleveland wedges (and other fake Cleveland stuff too) and I'd be extremely suspicious of anyone selling sets of Cleveland wedges. I'm not even sure that Cleveland sell their wedges as sets of 3, rather they sell them individually. It seems more than a coincidence that they're all in 52, 56 & 60 degree lofts and all in 2 dot bounce. If you're not sure if what you're bidding on is legit then send them an email and ask them if they can get you a set with a different configuration. If they can't but have they heaps of other Cleveland gear then it's more than likely that they just have a stack of fakes. I mean really, do people think that Cleveland just dump shedloads of the same model club to thousands of individual eBay sellers to offload at a massive discount off retail. That being said best to compare one to the real thing to know for sure. Stick to the reputable US sellers that get their stock directly from the manufacturers and sell legitimate runout gear. And don't trust feedback ratings as being the best measure either as most fakes these days are very good and you'd be hard pressed to tell the difference unless you had a real one to compare too and most people playing fakes probably don't realise (or want to believe) that their clubs are fake.
|
|
Years ago I bought a set of Clevelant clubs off a 'reputable' US dealer with more than 2000 sales on eBay and the clubs turned up in a box that had "Proudly Made in the USA" on the outside yet every club in the box had one of those tiny little stickers 'Made in China' on it. When I queried it with the supplier he reckoned he purchased them through the genuine Cleveland stockist. I'm sad to say I on-sold them to a guy that I play with every weekend...he is still a "C" grader... but hits the ball REALLY well... sometimes????
|
|
They're probably fine. The components would be made in China and then assembled in the US.
|
|
Have a look at these fakes: http://cgi.ebay.com.au/BRAN... Seller claims they are 100% authentic despite typical fake plush headcovers and a fake putter.
|
|
You sure they aren't from the Jap industry ? I see the word HOT on the sole, that's all. Cally don't usually shrink wrap their iron heads either, but almost everything is shrinkwrapped in the Asian markets. Are those soles right on the irons ? Probably fake, the question should be "well, where did he get ERC drivers in new condition from ?" Those drivers must be 6 or 7 years old, if not more ?
|
|
I think the putter is the real giveaway here, Callaway don't make anything like that (the Callaway Fusion model, oh yeah) and it's a standard cheap putter with knockoff sets plus the bag looks suss too.
|
|
Ok well I got my 3 wedges (CG10) a couple of weeks ago and had tried them in my practice net but not on the range or on course so didn’t comment. I played my first round with them today and if they’re fake (which I don’t believe they are) then I’ll have fake every time. I can see I’ll be going through quite a few balls due to the covers being ripped of them by these clubs.
|
Forums → Golf Equipment
Loading ...