Are any of you guys able to identify fakes?

ForumsGolf Equipment | 23 posts
 

I have this driver sitting at home as my uncle gave it to me when he purchased a new driver. I've never taken notice of it but have just realized it's a TM XR05 'Special Edition' at 10.5.
I'd like to know if it's real or not as he's from Asia laugh.gif
Also, how are the weights on drivers supposed to be stuck on? It's missing the weight at the back and it looks like it was just glued on?

 

QUOTE: Sheezy @ Apr 18 2007, 06:51 PM

I have this driver sitting at home as my uncle gave it to me when he purchased a new driver. I've never taken notice of it but have just realized it's a TM XR05 'Special Edition' at 10.5.
I'd like to know if it's real or not as he's from Asia laugh.gif
Also, how are the weights on drivers supposed to be stuck on? It's missing the weight at the back and it looks like it was just glued on?


Photos mate - piece of piss with photos

 

Definately fake. I'll take it off your hands for $10 plus shipping!

 

glued on weights...
cmon surely you know its a fake?!?!?!?!

look for a serial number. check with TM.

 

I would expect it to be real, the middle weight at the rear has been known to either fall out or become unscrewed. XR05 sounds Japanese market issue, check out the gear on www.tourspecgolf.com to see what we are all missing out on smile.gif mind you, some of it is non conforming, as I expect the XR05 may be too.

 



Also, I'm curious if fake shafts are also made?

 

lol definately a cheap rip off an TM r580 and there are heaps of fake shafts
Bad luck buddy sad.gif

Current Hcp: 11.4

Goal by end of 2007: 8.0

 

She looks real to me... TM have been gluing weights for years - just grab yourself am R5 non TP version.

You are missing the "tuned weight plug - if you have it just glue it back in.

Show me the shaft please = especially the label.

 

QUOTE: Abe @ Apr 18 2007, 10:09 PM

lol definately a cheap rip off an TM r580 and there are heaps of fake shafts
Bad luck buddy sad.gif

No it isn't, know your facts before posting crap.

It definately looks legit to me, the XR05 model was specific to the Asia Pacific region, they are high COR (over .83) and generally have a closed face angle and very soft tip shafts that play soft to flex.

For someone that doesn't smack the cover off of the ball they aren't too bad at all.

PS- the weights in the back tend to come out every so often, it is no biggie.

 

Wow, looks like I may have scored. I'm going to take it into Drummond tomorrow to see what he says about it.
I'll throw some pics of the shaft up tomorrow anyway.

 

QUOTE: Sheezy @ Apr 18 2007, 06:51 PM

I'd like to know if it's real or not as he's from Asia laugh.gif

A lot will depend on which country in Asia he is from and where he bought it.

For further information, send me a PM?

 

I think HISPL is correct, I've seen many XR05's on sale in Singapore.

Here's an ebay US auction for one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/RARE-TA...

 

wow my bad I just came to that conclusion by looking at it..

Sorry next time ill think about wat i say dry.gif

Current Hcp: 11.4

Goal by end of 2007: 8.0

 

Hmm took it into Drummond and the guy there thought it was real too. He gave TM a call and they guy said there should have the writing: Titanium Composite, as in this picture:

The one I have says "Special Edition", and the TM dude wasn't sure about it...
So still not 100% sure if it's legit. But other than that, they don't sell the weights for it anymore sad.gif

 

OK after some research on the net, it looks like there was such thing as a Special Edition.

If only I could get hold of a damn weight now!

 

QUOTE: Sheezy @ Apr 19 2007, 05:44 PM

OK after some research on the net, it looks like there was such thing as a Special Edition.

If only I could get hold of a damn weight now!


If you know the weight of the insert (you obviously know the shape from the cavity it left) you could just get one built by a clubmaker to suit, or are the weights in this driver the same shape as other TM drivers? If so grab an old one in terrible condition and take the wieght out of it.

I guess you could always experiment with different amounts of lead tape back in theere and see what works best before gluing it in permanently.

 

Only weights TM have available as far as I know is the screw ones for the R series.

Also, we don't have club makers here lol.

 

QUOTE: Sheezy @ Apr 19 2007, 03:37 PM

Hmm took it into Drummond and the guy there thought it was real too. He gave TM a call and they guy said there should have the writing: Titanium Composite, as in this picture:

The one I have says "Special Edition", and the TM dude wasn't sure about it...
So still not 100% sure if it's legit. But other than that, they don't sell the weights for it anymore sad.gif

From memory the "special edition" heads were the ones with the gold finish, no difference in the head other than color.

 

Don't get too attached. It's only an old TM driver. It's almost worth nothing. Save your cash for a newer model.

Home on The Range

 

QUOTE: timatldg @ Apr 20 2007, 07:00 AM

Don't get too attached. It's only an old TM driver. It's almost worth nothing. Save your cash for a newer model.

I totally agree with timatldg, save your money for new driver

 

if you can find out the weight of the insert, too easy to melt some lead and form into the right shape, depends how DIY you like to get

 

Ask the guys on Bombsquadgolf or Golfwrx, the guys there are likely to have some lying around.

 

I think it is probably genuine...it will probably take aR540/R580 weight cartridge, maybe not...but to find out what weight will suit, weigh out some play dough or builders putty and place it in the hole and use the driver when you are happy with a weight, weigh out that much in epoxy and fill your hole in...if you want to get funny you could always put one of those old little plastic pink 'babies' hanging out the back!

ForumsGolf Equipment
Loading ...