Loading ...
#%&^#& store on eBay
Forums → Golf Equipment | 72 posts
|
This store sells fake equipment, mostly Cleveland stuff and Odyssey putters. They're extremely good fakes, but they are fakes nonetheless, so best to be aware and avoid them, if you're into online shopping. The good news is that they do refund when you blow up about buying a fake, but judging from their feedback, there's plenty of suckers going around with fake clubs, blissfully unaware. EDIT - Strange that the thread title edited the name of the store. It's called Aus Golf.
|
|
there is probably a 'competitor' website called Aus Golf
|
|
How do you know they are fakes? Did you buy one and send it back? What are the things to look out for?
|
|
You wanna see fakes, have a look at this only $140 shipping from
Shanghai ... http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Odys...
|
|
I bought one and it turned up with the shaft loose in the head. I was suspicious. I went to a couple of big retailers in Sydney and basically found that the white steel insert was not identical, the colour of the polumer insert was an off-white, while the Odyssey is white, the tornado logo was a little bit different and the serial number was in a different font. The differences were subtle, but up against a real Odyssey it seemed quite stark. I guess too, the big thing is that when every golf store, online and shopfront, is within $20 of each other, it's a no brainer why the guy on eBay is $70 cheaper. There may be exceptions, but it's a safe rule to stick to. I'm still trying to work out how I could have been so stupid to buy it.
|
|
Cheers mate good to know. I'm 99% certain I've never bought a fake and it's hard to know unless you can examine yours and one in a shop side by side. Did you get your cash back?
|
|
I did. They maintain it was a one-off, but I looked back through their eBay feedback and a few guys have left feedback saying their club was a knockoff or fake. I suppose if you have a club that you hit well, you probably wouldn't mind...
|
|
Is this the seller known as "ausg0lf" or a different one? Cheers, Peter.
|
|
Off the subject here but this site is an easy way to find the negative feedback on sellers:
|
|
I even email if I can past buyers from a seller if I'm not sure. Not saying its your fault but do your homework first.I ask questions like is it fake before I buy stuff not after??
|
|
That's the one. You've had the fortune/misfortune of dealing with them?
|
|
Quite simply, I got excited and didn't do as much homework as I should have. The guy had a few hundred sales and 99% positive feedback. I guess I just assumed that 1% was just the wanker element, instead of the smart ones who know their stuff. It was stupid. I've learned my lesson now.
|
|
i saw a hibore fake on the weekend and it was a good one, the only difference was the colour band on the shaft was slightly off centre and the titanium text stamping on the sole was slightly off by a few mm as well, but aparently this is common on the real ones, in the end the only way to tell was to rip the grip off and look inside the shaft for the fujikura stamping.
|
|
yeah be careful..I buy lost of gear and havent been burnt...but I ask lots of questions...if they start getting annoyed by these questions or get defensive then you know they are suspect
also i go by this simple philosphy that IF something is too good
to be true its because its too good to be true...
|
|
Yes, he sells fakes... I was taken for a ride on a fake set of Cleveland CG2 irons, they were so close to the real thing it wasn't funny. After heaps of persistence I got a refund for the goods... Buyer Beware
|
|
They are so many fake golf equipments in eBay. I am very worry therefore I never buy any golf equipments from eBay. From now on every golf equipment that I need I always bought them from store. Even though they are more expensive but I don't need to worry about them when I had a bad shot it is my club's fault or my fault.
|
|
good idea, it is common for most ebayers to assume something is fake irrespective of feedback. If you can't use the signs and readily available information to make a purchase you are comfortable with, you simply shouldn't use ebay.
|
|
An idea completely out of left field. I think a lot of people would appreciate feedback and comments on golf retailers in general - shops, on-course, ebay, etc - either positive, negative, or warning. What if we had a whole new forum for golf retailers. Every thread could be a different retailer containing comments (good, bad, indifferent) pertaining to that retailer. For example - a thread on Ausg0lf - entry would be - beware, sells fake 2-ball putters.
Just a thought ... it's probably been thought of before and
rejected Cheers, Peter.
|
|
Not a bad idea. Or GolfMart, Granville: Staff will try to railroad you into Adams irons because they have a decent profit in them.
|
|
I wouldn't just assume that all shops sell originals either. If the fakes look the real deal, then people must be buying from a shop, then returning the next day for a refund - but returning a cheap set of fakes. These will most likely end up back on the rack.
|
|
I looked into his feedback quickly but he doesnt have any
negatives! He sells alot of TM gear, but he also got a couple of
Adams listings. Why would anyone bother faking Adams?
|
|
Al, are you really on single figures now?????
|
|
bloody oath I am. A big F U to the people who bagged the crap out
of me in my 'distance' thread a while back, and they know
who they are!
Oh the F U can also mean Thank You if you say it with an asian
accent!
|
|
Interesting thread...I sent an email to ebay asking (well suggesting actually) that people who sell fake gear under the pretense that its genuine should be banned from ebay, I stated that selling something under false prestenses is FRAUD...guess what they said...IT was down to the buyer...I sent consumer affairs an email asking them about selling gear under false pretenses...they said its illegal and would investigate if you made claim as such.
|
|
If you have the right store and you look deeper into his history there are a lot of fake claims. I was disappointed to see those 506's go so quick al, I was thinking about them. Now considering a set of 690.cb's or j 33's. getting away from my blades, need some forgiveness.
|
Forums → Golf Equipment
Loading ...